WTF? (What THE? Fridays) Part 12. On Saturday!

Hopefully continuing collection of pictures of things that make me scratch my head, chuckle, or just generally go–HUH?

Because everybody else has a Wordless Wednesday or TMI Tuesday, or whatever, and I want one, too!

So, this week’s What THE? Friday is on Saturday afternoon! Or if you’re in the U.S., very, very early Saturday morning!

I didn’t exactly get around to writing anything this past week because I didn’t have internet where I was staying in Phitsanulok, and I couldn’t be bothered to go to an internet cafe. I’m lazy!

So...I'm supposed to just turn around? Or stay there? Or what? Be a little clearer, Phitsanulok! Have mercy!

You can't see it, but these are called Big Eye contacts because they are supposed to make your eyes look...big. It kind of disturbs me because the eyes just look *creepy*, not big.

These are people who use the Big Eye contacts. Seriously, kind of creepy, like aliens! I know that this is really a serious issue involving standards of beauty and blahblahblah, but you do not come to me for social commentary. Or if you do, you must be really sorry when you read all the crap I write about potato chips.

I think posts will be sporadic next week, as well, but I promise to get back on track really soon!

18 Comments

Filed under Thailand, Trips, WTF?

18 responses to “WTF? (What THE? Fridays) Part 12. On Saturday!

  1. How exactly do those Big Eye lenses work? Are we talking Clockwork Orange hooks or what?

  2. Boima

    Love this ! lvoe your blog….Great Job!
    Couldnt find a Facebook page.!

  3. I do need some new contacts…maybe I should get me some “Big Eyes”. I’ve always wanted to look freakish.

  4. Megan, I have see a few Thai women wearing the big eye contact lenses and creepy isn’t close to being a strong enough word for it…maybe unsettling, scary and or WTF! STOP!

  5. My students would love the contact lenses that made their eyes blue. It was so strange coming into class and seeing the ‘Children of The Corn’ staring back. They always wanted to touch my eyes because they were convinced my blue eyes were fake too.

  6. Megan…ditto on Talen and Paul’s comments. The first time I saw this phenomenon (creepy electric blue eyes on a beautiful Asian girl), was a few years ago in Australia. I literally had to look away and talk to her friend, because I felt myself physically being drawn in by them. Maybe they have hypnotic powers?

  7. Amy

    I’ve got to agree with everyone here. Have you talked to any Thai females who think it’s creepy? It’s just weird to me that Asian women love this so much.

    They want to look like anime characters.

  8. Fred Trellis

    I can’t email you something interesting, because (and I quote)

    Delivery to the following recipient failed permanently:

    bangkokrealitysmackown@gmail.com

    Technical details of permanent failure:
    Google tried to deliver your message, but it was rejected by the recipient domain. We recommend contacting the other email provider for further information about the cause of this error. The error that the other server returned was: 550 550-5.1.1 The email account that you tried to reach does not exist.

    I am stuck in Bangkok over Xmas, awaiting a spare part. I’m not normally so sociable, but I’m bored and lonely.

    You and Josh want a coffee sometime?

  9. Some of my students wear these – I had no idea they were being marketed as BIG eyes. They are disturbing and I’ve even asked, “Are you wearing contacts?” Because I’m staring at them like, What is Wrong With Your Eyes?

    I much prefer the fake Buddy Holly glasses that seem to be the rage over these creepy lenses.

Leave a Reply

