WTF? (What THE?! Fridays) Part 17: Corn Dessert Edition

Hopefully continuing collection of pictures of things that make me scratch my head, chuckle, or just generally go–HUH?

Because everybody else has a Wordless Wednesday or TMI Tuesday, or whatever, and I want one, too!

This week’s WTF? is dedicated to those corn lovers out there…

Milky Corn Drink. Still have not tried it. Don't want to. Closed minded! Don't care!

This actually makes me want to throw up in my mouth a little. Actually, I DID just throw up in my mouth a little.

Thai dessert of shaved ice with super sweet syrup, black jelly, and corn. Yeah. No comment there, really. Obviously some Thai people ordered this for me.

Corn ice cream. I tried it, okay? I've decided I don't like the texture of frozen corn, which I knew before, anyway. It's like eating a soft tooth or something. Ick.

From KFC. This does not look appetizing to me. Does it look good to anybody else? And if so, are you under the treatment of a doctor for Disgusting Syndrome? They have something for that. It's called good taste.

 

Nelson's Corn in Cup from Malaysia. I don't think that it was all dessert, but still! (photo by Jason)


22 Comments

Filed under Thailand, WTF?

22 responses to “WTF? (What THE?! Fridays) Part 17: Corn Dessert Edition

  1. Smackdown FTW!! Wishing you well in the blog contest! Celebrate being nominated and selected with one of the tasty treats above…

  2. I bought a four-pack of “Cereal Bean” flavored yogurt while in Thailand (don’t ask me why… at the time I was relatively new to Thailand and actually felt a desire to TRY stuff… not so much anymore). The package showed what looked like kidney beans & sweet corn — but I figured that couldn’t be it since those things most definitely were NOT cereal beans (don’t ask me what I thought cereal beans were… but, whatever). Turns out that’s exactly what was inside — sweet corn & kidney beans in vanilla yogurt. Would have made a lovely hearty soup, but the yogurt was super gross.

  3. Elisa

    I voted for you and your hilarity! Fingers crossed you win so you can buy more corn ;)

  4. I’m personally a fan of corn in a cup in Mexico!

  5. Monica

    I agree with all of those comments you made…here even things that “look” nice end up just not tasting how they look – or at least not how my brain and taste buds expect from the look….my husband did eat the bean buns from 7-11 stores…never could convince me to try them even though they were just red beans….

  6. Erin

    Oh my! What is going on with all of the corn – do they think they live in the midwest or something? :)

    BTW – I voted for you – I hope you win and it comes with fantastic cash prizes!

    • Yeah, I don’t know! And it’s everywhere–this was just the corn *dessert* edition!

      Thanks for the vote. Wish it came with cash. Alas!

      Hope things are good in FL! :)

  7. I’ve tried one of those corn in a cup thing. It’s a good thing I’ve stopped them before they poured condensed milk all over it (eeeww). Then again, it might’ve made it better — it was just, eh.

    • Hmmm…I’m of two minds. Condensed milk rocks and makes many things taste better, but I’m not sure how it would be on corn. Ugh–probably not good…

  8. I love corn! Hm, is it an Asian thing, you think?

    • Hmmm…not sure. I know that in Latin America it’s a big thing, as well. And, of course, Americans have a thing for corn, too–we just don’t like it in desserts and stuff! Well, that’s a generalization, but still.

  9. Megan that’s gotta be your most corniest post yet! I’m like you, I just don’t get the uber sweet corn thing…it should be eaten hot, on the cob and smothered with butter, salt and or pepper, and empailed on small cute corn cob holders.

    • Ooooh, I wish I’d thought to use the corny pun. Seriously, I didn’t even think about it!

      Yeah, fresh sweet corn in the summer with butter and salt…heaven!

  10. Fred

    Not so much, here in the southern boonies, but in Chiang Mai and Hat Yai – and Bangkok – I regularly ate sweetcorn out of a cup. They would want to put condensed milk or sugar on it – but by hand-waving, I managed to get corn with the tiniest hint of butter.

    And very good too. I’m not following the anti all the way to the bottom of this post. Ice-cream and milk from corn – yeah, OK, I can be with you and against that. But corn in a cup is just – well, corn in a cup.

    Nothing drastic.

  11. Have you tried the McDonalds corn pie (as oppose to the apple pie) yet? :D

Leave a Reply

